The new Government may be invested today. UDMR will be part of it

The new ministers who have been proposed by Prime Minister Victor Ponta to be part of the reshuffled government may be invested today in the afternoon, following the Parliament’s vote. Currently, the Specialized Committees are hearing them and provided they get the required approvals they will go into the Parliament to be voted by the MPs. As anticipated, the Democratic Union of Magyars in Romania, UDMR, will have its representatives in the new Executive, based on the agreement Kelemen Hunor, the union’s president signed yesterday with Ponta, the president of the Social Democrat Party, PSD and the leader of the freshly formed political alliance – USD, the Social-Democrat Union. 

In the new Cabinet will also remain members of the USL Government – some of them keep their ministries (Liviu Dragnea, Liviu Voinea, Rober Cazanciuc, Titus Corlatean, Mircea Dusa, Remus Pricopie, Eugen Teodorovici, Mihnea Costoiu), others will be assigned new ones (Rovana Plumb, Nicolae Banicioiu, Constantin Nita, Dan Sova, Doina Pana). Hence, the Government will have the following structure: 

Liviu Dragnea – Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Regional Development;

Gabriel Oprea – Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Internal Affairs;

Daniel Constantin – Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Agriculture;

Kelemen Hunor – Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Culture;

Titus Corlatean – Minister of Foreign Affairs;

Mircea Dusa – Minister of Defence;

Robert Cazanciuc – Minister of Justice;

Attila Korody – Minister of Environment and Climate Change;

Constantin Nita – Minister of Economy;

Ioana Petrescu – Minister of Public Finance;

Nicolae Banicioiu – Minister of Health;

Remus Pricopie – Minister of Education;

Gabriela Szabo – Minister of Youth and Sports;

Rovana Plumb – Minister of Labour and Family;

Eugen Teodorovici – Minister of European Funds;

Alexandru Razvan Cotovelea – Minister for Information Society;

Dan Sova – Minister of Transport;


Besides these 17 ministers, there are eight more ministers delegates, subordinated to some of the main ministries:

Liviu Voinea – Minister Delegate for Budget (the Ministry of Public Finance);

Mihnea Costoiu – Minister Delegate for Higher Education (the Ministry of Education);

Florin Jianu – Minister Delegate for SMEs, Business Environment and Tourism (the Ministry of Economy);

Eugen Nicolicea – Minister Delegate for the Relations with the Parliament (the Ministry of Justice);

Razvan Nicolescu – Minister Delegate for Energy (the Ministry of Economy);

Doina Pana – Minister Delegate for Waters and Forests (the Ministry of Environment and Climate Change);

Aurelia Cristea – Minister Delegate for Social Dialogue (the Ministry of Justice);

Bogdan Stanoevici – Minister Delegate for Romanians Abroad (the Ministry of Foreign Affairs);

Subsequent to the Parliamentary vote, the new members of the Romanian Government should meet with President Traian Basescu for the investiture ceremony. The latter said on Sunday, March 2, during a talk-show on ProTV that he will not support a new government in case that the initial programme, established by USL, will be revised, warning Ponta that he will notify the Constitutional Court (CC). However, the Prime Minister promised that no changes will be performed within the government programme and thereby, a notification submitted to the CC in this respect would have no ground.


June 15, 2021 16:13
The Minister of Finance, Alexandru Nazare, and the Country Director for Romani...more »
February 08, 2021 13:31
by Flavia Ștefura and Cristina Crețu, MPR Partners  Ba...more »
December 08, 2020 09:07
"I have decided to resign. The decision has a very precise objective. Once the c...more »
October 20, 2020 10:47
The Ministry of Public Finance proposed the deductibility of expenses incurred...more »
Govnet Next Events